At present, the Victorian alpine resorts are managed by separate boards (Mt Stirling and Mt Buller are managed by a single board).  This structure of governance has been described as “complex and ineffective” and the government has been looking into other alternatives. These are outlined in the report Alpine Resorts Governance Reform.

After a long wait, the Minister for Energy, Environment and Climate Change Lily D’Ambrosio has today announced that the government would implement a new governance model and ‘refresh the three northern Alpine Resort Management Boards’ (Falls Creek, Mt Buller/ Mt Stirling and Mt Hotham).

The government will soon be inviting expressions of interest for 13 positions across the boards responsible for managing Falls Creek, Mt Buller/ Mt Stirling and Mt Hotham.

According to a government media release, each board will be made up of three unique members – while four common members will be appointed to all three boards.

The government says this “will improve coordination and provide better strategic planning and oversight”.

The membership of the Alpine Resorts Co-ordinating Council (ARCC), which is a statutory body established under the Victorian Alpine Resorts (Management) Act 1997 which reports to the minister, will also be ‘refreshed’.

The Southern Alpine Resort Management Board membership (covering Baw Baw and Lake Mountain) will remain unchanged.